top of page

The Baron of Salgas, and other stories (Malplach) (Alcock)

SKU 9780921100690


This book has two stories by Deborah Alcock: The Cross and the Crown, and The Carpenter of Nimes as well as The Baron of Salgas by Sabine Malplach. The latter is about the Baron and Baroness de Salgas and their sons. The Baroness knows that her Saviour had said that whoever would deny Him would be denied by Him. But her husband thinks differently and wants her to come out in the open as a Huguenot. What now? So one night she escapes to Geneva. Will her husband follow her? Will he recant? What will happen to their sons who are to be taken to the convents?

The Cross and the Crown tells about a man named Gabriel Vaur. After the Revocation of the Edict of Nantes (1658), which ends the freedom of religion with the stroke of a pen, life once again becomes very dangerous for the Huguenots in France. When the Dragonnades come, Gabriel tried to get help, leaving his father, sister, and brother behind. Will he ever see them again? Will he be able to flee France and reach a free England?

The Carpenter of Nimes goes back still further to the year 1569 and tells the story of a man named Jacques Maderon. When the pastor tells Jacques that Christ had said, “Son, go work today in My vineyard,” he knows it is time to do something. Then the father of his friend is taken prisoner. Will he succeed in cutting the bars of the gate and opening it for the Huguenots to enter the city and restore freedom?




Only 2 left in stock

Product Details:

  • Paperback:  226 pages
  • Published: 
  • ISBN:  9780921100690
    Authors:  Sabine Malplach and Deborah Alcock


  • Sabine Malplach and Deborah Alcock


  • 13 and up
bottom of page