top of page

Louis Wessels Commando Series - Set of 5 (Penning)



The Louis Wessels Commando Seriesby Lawrence Penning#1 The Lion of Modderspruit#2 The Hero of Spionkop#3 The Scout of Christiaan de Wet#4 The Victor of Nooitgedacht#5 The Colonist of Southwest AfricaA wonderful historical novel in which Penning has interwoven love, pathos, and loyalty. The conflict the Boers endured with England involves not only a fight to maintain their independence (to which the British agreed in 1881) but also a deeply religious significance. Louis Wessels, the eldest son of a well-established Transvaal Boer family, is betrothed to Truida, a Boer maiden living in the British colony of Natal, and educated in Britishgoverned schools. When England sends over thousands of troops to invade the independent Boer colony of the Orange Free State, causing the Boers of the Transvaal Colony to prepare to invade Natal, the two lovers are confronted by more than a political conflict — two loyal hearts separated by loyalty to conflicting causes. The horrors of the war drag both Louis and Truida through heights of joy and depths of despair. How can these two hearts, beating strongly for each other but also strongly for their separate causes, ever be reconciled? On which side is justice to be found?


  • Author: Lawrence Penning
  • Published in 2008


Only 1 left in stock

Product Details:

  • Paperback: 
  • Published:  2008
  • Author: Lawrence Penning


  • Lawrence Penning
bottom of page